- The Number: 70% on the Final Examination
- What a 70% Threshold Does and Does Not Tell You
- What Is Still Unverified About Scoring
- Verified Exam Facts That Frame the Score
- Course Quizzes: A Second 70% Gate
- Eligibility Comes Before the Score
- Where Your Points Will Come From: Thirteen Preparation Subjects
- A Domain-Ordered Preparation Plan
- After You Pass: License, Course Access and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- McAfee Institute publishes a passing criterion of at least 70% on the CCIP final examination.
- Applicable course quizzes also require 70%, so the threshold appears twice in the program.
- The exam is online proctored with a three-hour limit, one included attempt, and a one-year exam license.
- Question count, scored/unscored split and official domain weights are not publicly verified, so avoid raw-question math.
The Number: 70% on the Final Examination
The Certified Cyber Intelligence Professional (CCIP) credential is issued by McAfee Institute, and the published passing criterion for its final examination is at least 70%. That is the entire public scoring statement: a single percentage threshold on the final exam. There is no published tiered scoring, no honors band, and no distinction between a 70% and a 95% in terms of the credential you receive.
If you landed here searching for a scaled score such as "300 out of 500" or "700 out of 1000," that is not how the issuer describes this credential. The public criterion is a plain percentage. Anyone quoting you a different scale for the Certified Cyber Intelligence Professional is either guessing or describing a different certification that happens to share the same acronym.
For a broader picture of how demanding the exam is, see our CCIP difficulty guide, and for the cost side of the decision, the CCIP certification cost breakdown.
What a 70% Threshold Does and Does Not Tell You
A percentage threshold sounds simple, but candidates routinely over-read it. Here is what the published criterion supports and what it does not.
| Question | What the public sources support |
|---|---|
| What score passes the final exam? | At least 70% |
| Is 70% the same as the pass rate? | No. The threshold is a cut score; the share of candidates who pass is not publicly disclosed |
| Do course quizzes use the same bar? | Yes, applicable course quizzes also require 70% |
| Are some domains weighted more heavily? | Official weights are unverified |
| How many questions are on the exam? | Unverified |
| Are there unscored pilot items? | Unverified |
The most common mistake is confusing the passing score with the pass rate. The 70% figure tells you how well you must perform; it says nothing about how many people succeed. We cover what is and is not known on that front in our CCIP pass rate analysis.
What Is Still Unverified About Scoring
Honest preparation means knowing where the public record runs out. Based on the issuer's current product and exam pages, the following scoring-related details are not publicly confirmed:
- Total question count. No verified number of items is published, so you cannot convert 70% into "I can miss X questions."
- Scored versus unscored items. Whether any unscored items are mixed in is unverified.
- Item formats. The exact live question types, and whether the exam is adaptive, are unverified.
- Official domain weights. No weighted blueprint has been verified, so no domain can be named as the largest.
- Retake rules. Detailed retake policy is unverified; the exam product includes one attempt.
- Open-book or calculator rules. Unverified.
Our editorial practice questions on this site allocate items across thirteen preparation categories, but that allocation is editorial, not an official weighting. Do not read it as a prediction of the real distribution.
Verified Exam Facts That Frame the Score
While the scoring internals are thin, several operational facts are confirmed on the issuer's pages and shape how you should approach the 70% target.
| Item | Current issuer information |
|---|---|
| Issuer | McAfee Institute |
| Delivery | Online proctored, proctor license included |
| Time limit | Three hours |
| Passing criterion | At least 70% on the final examination |
| Exam-only price | USD 450, one attempt and a one-year license |
| Training bundle | USD 1,797 |
| Exam-only contents | Product-specific text excludes manual, quizzes and training |
Note that the exam-only product is exactly that: it does not include the training manual or course quizzes, despite a generic banner on the site that could suggest otherwise. If you buy exam-only, your preparation materials are your own responsibility, which makes your study approach more consequential. See our CCIP training overview for how the course route compares.
The external proctoring provider is unverified, so check the issuer's candidate instructions for technical and room requirements before exam day. For timing and scheduling mechanics, our CCIP exam dates guide is the place to start.
Course Quizzes: A Second 70% Gate
If you take the training route, the same 70% bar applies to the applicable course quizzes. This is useful in two ways. First, it gives you a low-stakes rehearsal of the threshold you will face on the final. Second, it gives you a practical signal: if you are consistently landing near 70% on quizzes, you are operating at the margin, and the final exam gives you no cushion.
Key Takeaway
Aim to be comfortably above 70% in practice, not just at it. Practice conditions are friendlier than a three-hour proctored sitting, so a result right on the line in practice is a warning, not a green light.
Do not confuse the course's 50 hours, 40 earned CPE credits, or 25 advertised modules with exam timers, question counts or weights. Those describe the training program, not the scoring of the final examination. The public legal and technical training-hour split likewise must not be read as exam percentages.
Eligibility Comes Before the Score
Passing score discussions assume you are allowed to sit the exam. The issuer's current eligibility alternatives are:
- A bachelor's degree plus three relevant years of experience, or
- An associate's degree plus four years, or
- High school or equivalent plus five years.
Qualifying paid professional duties, documentation, and conduct or background review apply, and possible international review may also apply. Fixed reference requirements and any mandatory exam-only training hours are unverified. A strong exam result does not substitute for meeting these conditions, so confirm your standing early. Our CCIP requirements guide walks through the qualification path in detail.
Where Your Points Will Come From: Thirteen Preparation Subjects
The issuer presents its curriculum narrative in prose rather than as numbered, weighted exam domains. For preparation, we separate it into thirteen subjects. These are course-preparation categories, not an official examination blueprint, and the twenty-five advertised course modules are not treated as domains. Exhaustive exam coverage by these subjects is unverified, so treat them as a floor for study, not a ceiling. For a deeper tour, read our complete guide to all 13 CCIP content areas.
Cyber-Intelligence Foundations and OSINT
The conceptual base: how cyber intelligence collection works and how open-source material feeds analysis.
- Collection planning and analytical integration across multiple data sources
- Source reliability and corroboration of open-source material
- Legal considerations that bound what you may collect
Privacy and Secure Research Environments
Protecting yourself and your investigation while researching.
- Reducing your own digital footprint during collection
- Setting up environments that separate investigative activity from personal identity
- Understanding how privacy practices intersect with legal and ethical limits
Social-Media Investigations, Auction Fraud and Deception Analysis
Applied investigative topics where fabricated or manipulated information is common.
- Attributing and corroborating social-media content
- Recognizing patterns in online marketplace and auction fraud
- Assessing deception, handling conflicting information, and stating uncertainty and assumptions
Deep-Web Research and Advanced Searching
Reaching material that standard search does not surface.
- Advanced search techniques for targeted discovery
- Exploring the deep web responsibly and within legal bounds
- Recording what was searched and found so results are reproducible
Digital Evidence, Documentation and Reporting
Turning findings into something defensible.
- Analyzing digital evidence effectively
- Documenting findings for intelligence reporting
- Writing supported judgments that flag information gaps and assumptions
- Case management for cyber investigations
Law-Enforcement Partnerships and Program Development
The organizational layer around investigative work.
- Working with law-enforcement partners on cyber matters
- Building and managing a cyber intelligence program
- Delivering assessments suitable for strategic or operational decision-making
The issuer's published learning outcomes are: develop comprehensive cyber intelligence techniques; practice social media investigation skills; explore the deep web and advanced search techniques; manage cyber investigations and case management; analyze digital evidence effectively; and document findings for intelligence reporting. The performance objectives emphasize explaining advanced methodologies and investigative frameworks, performing complex analysis that integrates multiple data sources, and delivering assessments for decision-making. These are program outcomes, not weighted domains, and the foundation, applied and exit labels describe learning progression rather than score weights.
A Domain-Ordered Preparation Plan
Because no weights are published, the sensible strategy is to spread effort so that no subject falls below passing-level competence, then concentrate extra time where your professional background is thinnest. The plan below is tied to the thirteen subjects rather than generic habits. Adjust the pacing to your own experience; the sequence is the point.
Foundations, OSINT and Privacy
- Cover cyber-intelligence foundations and OSINT first, since later topics build on them
- Add privacy and secure research environments so your practice habits are sound from the start
Applied Investigation
- Work through social-media investigations, auction fraud and deception analysis together
- Practice stating uncertainty and conflicting information, not just identifying facts
Discovery and Evidence
- Study deep-web research and advanced searching
- Move to digital evidence and documentation, where defensibility matters most
Organizational Topics and Full Review
- Cover law-enforcement partnerships and program development
- Sit timed, mixed practice across all thirteen subjects and revisit anything under 70%
If you want a fuller framework, our CCIP study guide for a first-attempt pass expands on resources and pacing, and the CCIP cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts for last-minute review. When you are ready to test yourself under realistic conditions, try the CCIP practice tests and track which subjects keep you below the line.
Key Takeaway
Since one weak subject can sink a 70% target, take a diagnostic across all thirteen categories early. Let those results, not your preferences, decide where the extra hours go.
After You Pass: License, Course Access and Renewal
Three terms get conflated, so keep them separate:
- Exam license: the exam-only product includes one attempt and a one-year license. That term describes your window to use the exam, not how long your credential lasts.
- Course access: the training package advertises lifetime course access, which is distinct from the exam license.
- Credential renewal: renewal is every two years. The numeric renewal CPE requirement and fee were not recovered from current issuer policy, so confirm them with McAfee Institute directly.
The one-year exam license does not establish recertification policy. Because the exam-only price covers a single attempt, plan to sit the exam while you are prepared rather than treating it as a trial run. If you are weighing the payoff, our ROI analysis, salary guide and CCIP jobs overview cover career outcomes.
Frequently Asked Questions
McAfee Institute's published criterion is at least 70% on the Certified Cyber Intelligence Professional final examination. Applicable course quizzes also require 70%.
No. The 70% figure is the cut score a candidate must reach. The proportion of candidates who pass is not publicly disclosed.
That cannot be stated, because the total question count and any scored/unscored split are not publicly verified. Aim well above 70% in practice instead of calculating a miss limit.
Official domain weights are unverified, so no subject can be identified as the largest. The thirteen preparation categories used here are editorial groupings, not a weighted blueprint.
The online-proctored exam has a three-hour time limit. The exam-only product is USD 450 and includes one attempt and a one-year license; the training bundle is USD 1,797. Detailed retake rules are unverified, so confirm them with the issuer.