CCIP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCIP Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • CCIP here means McAfee Institute's Certified Cyber Intelligence Professional, an online-proctored final assessment with a three-hour limit.
  • The issuer's published passing threshold is at least 70% on the final examination.
  • Exam-only costs $450 and includes one attempt plus a one-year exam license; the training bundle is $1,797.
  • Thirteen published preparation subjects, from OSINT to program development, are not an official weighted blueprint.

CCIP Cheat Sheet 2026: What This One-Page Review Covers

Key Takeaways

  • CCIP here means McAfee Institute's Certified Cyber Intelligence Professional, an online-proctored final assessment with a three-hour limit.
  • The issuer's published passing threshold is at least 70% on the final examination.
  • Exam-only costs $450 and includes one attempt plus a one-year exam license; the training bundle is $1,797.
  • Thirteen published preparation subjects, from OSINT to program development, are not an official weighted blueprint.
  • Question count, item formats, and official domain weights are not publicly verified, so avoid anyone claiming exact numbers.

This page is a compact reference for the facts that matter most when preparing for the Certified Cyber Intelligence Professional (CCIP) credential from the McAfee Institute. It separates what the issuer publicly states from what remains unconfirmed, because a cheat sheet that blurs that line is worse than none at all. Use it as a quick orientation, then go deeper through the CCIP study guide and the complete guide to all 13 content areas.

Which CCIP Is This? Getting the Identity Right

The acronym CCIP is shared by several unrelated credentials in the technology world. This article covers only Certified Cyber Intelligence Professional, issued by the McAfee Institute. If you are looking for networking, financial-services, or product-vendor certifications that happen to abbreviate to CCIP, nothing on this page applies to them. Exam fees, dates, passing rules, and content areas here belong exclusively to the cyber intelligence credential.

If you are still orienting yourself, these background reads help: what CCIP certification is, what CCIP stands for, and the broader CCIP certification overview.

Exam Facts at a Glance

ItemWhat the Issuer PublishesStatus
Certifying bodyMcAfee InstituteConfirmed
DeliveryOnline proctored; proctor licence includedConfirmed
Time limit3 hoursConfirmed
Passing thresholdAt least 70% on the final examinationConfirmed
Exam-only price$450 (one attempt, one-year licence)Confirmed
Training bundle price$1,797Confirmed
Question countNot publicly statedUnverified
Scored vs. unscored itemsNot publicly statedUnverified
Item formats / adaptive testingNot publicly statedUnverified
Official domain weightsNot publishedUnverified
Pass rateNot publicly disclosedUnverified
Read the Passing Threshold Carefully: The 70% figure is the published passing criterion for the final examination. It is not a pass rate and says nothing about how many candidates succeed. Course quizzes inside the training also carry a 70% requirement. For deeper context, see what you need to pass and what the data shows about pass rates.

Eligibility Paths

The issuer describes three alternative combinations of education and experience. Any one of them can qualify you:

  • Bachelor's degree plus three years of relevant experience
  • Associate degree plus four years of relevant experience
  • High school diploma or equivalent plus five years of relevant experience

Beyond the headline combinations, the issuer's framework refers to qualifying paid professional duties, supporting documentation, conduct and background expectations, and possible international review. Specific fixed references and any mandatory training hours for exam-only candidates are not confirmed in the public sources, so verify directly with the issuer before you pay. The full walk-through lives in CCIP requirements and how to qualify.

The 13 Preparation Areas: What to Know in Each

The issuer's public curriculum narrative describes thirteen subjects in prose. They are not numbered, weighted exam domains, and the 25 advertised course modules are not these thirteen. Treat the list below as a preparation map rather than a guarantee of exam coverage. Individual module titles are not publicly supplied, so any claim of an exhaustive syllabus should be treated with caution.

1. Cyber-Intelligence Foundations

The conceptual base: what cyber intelligence is, how it differs from raw data collection, and how collection feeds analysis and decisions.

  • Intelligence-cycle thinking from collection through reporting
  • Methodologies and investigative frameworks
  • How analytical integration combines multiple sources

2. OSINT

Open-source intelligence is central to the program. Expect emphasis on finding, validating, and organizing publicly available information.

  • Source reliability and corroboration
  • Separating verified facts from assumptions
  • Handling conflicting information

3. Privacy

Both protecting your own investigative footprint and understanding the legal and ethical boundaries around other people's information.

  • Legal considerations that constrain collection
  • Minimizing exposure of the investigator

4. Secure Research Environments

Building a controlled setup for investigative work so research does not compromise the investigator or the case.

  • Separation of investigative activity from personal identity
  • Risk awareness when visiting hostile or untrusted sites

5. Social-Media Investigations

One of the six published learning outcomes is practicing social media investigation skills. Know how to collect, preserve, and interpret platform-based information responsibly.

6. Auction Fraud

A distinctive subject in this program. Be ready to reason about how fraud schemes on auction and marketplace platforms are identified and documented.

7. Deep-Web Research

Exploring the deep web is a stated learning outcome. Focus on what lies beyond standard search indexing and how to approach it safely and lawfully.

8. Advanced Searching

Going past basic queries: structured search techniques that surface hard-to-find material and reduce noise.

9. Deception Analysis

Evaluating whether information, personas, or claims are misleading. This connects directly to source reliability, uncertainty, and information gaps.

10. Digital Evidence

Analyzing digital evidence effectively is a published outcome. Think handling, preservation, and interpretation in ways that hold up to scrutiny.

11. Documentation

Documenting findings for intelligence reporting is a published outcome. Expect to understand professional reporting, case management, and supported judgments.

12. Law-Enforcement Partnerships

How cyber intelligence work interfaces with law enforcement, including what a practitioner provides and how collaboration is structured.

13. Program Development

Moving from individual technique to building or running a cyber intelligence capability within an organization.

No Weights, No Shortcuts: Because official weights are not verified, no domain can honestly be called the largest. Spread your effort across all thirteen rather than betting on a guess. For how difficulty feels in practice, see how hard the CCIP exam is.

Analytic Habits the Program Emphasizes

Beyond the topic list, the issuer's preparation context repeatedly points to a way of thinking. A candidate who only memorizes terminology will be underprepared. Build fluency in these habits:

  • Source reliability: judge where information came from before trusting what it says.
  • Corroboration: seek independent confirmation rather than relying on a single source.
  • Uncertainty and assumptions: state what you do not know and flag the assumptions your conclusions rest on.
  • Information gaps: identify what is missing and how it limits your assessment.
  • Conflicting information: reconcile or explicitly present contradictions instead of ignoring them.
  • Supported judgments: tie every conclusion to evidence a reader can follow.
  • Case management and reporting: organize an investigation and communicate results professionally.

Key Takeaway

When you practice, force yourself to write a one-line judgment, name the evidence behind it, and list one assumption and one gap. That mirrors how the program frames intelligence assessment far better than flashcards of definitions.

Learning Outcomes and Performance Objectives

Six Published Learning Outcomes

  1. Develop comprehensive cyber intelligence techniques
  2. Practice social media investigation skills
  3. Explore the deep web and advanced search techniques
  4. Manage cyber investigations and case management
  5. Analyze digital evidence effectively
  6. Document findings for intelligence reporting

Three Published Performance Objectives

  1. Explain advanced cyber intelligence methodologies and investigative frameworks.
  2. Perform complex cyber intelligence analysis integrating multiple data sources.
  3. Deliver advanced cyber intelligence assessments suitable for strategic or operational decision-making.

These describe what the program wants you to be able to do. They are learning outcomes, not weighted exam sections. The foundation, applied, and exit labels in the program describe a learning progression, not score weights. Notice the verbs: explain, perform, deliver. The exam is positioned as an assessment of applied knowledge, so practice using concepts, not just recognizing them. The main practice test site is a good place to rehearse applying ideas under time pressure.

Money, Time, and Licence Terms

TermDetail
Exam-only$450; one attempt; one-year exam licence; excludes manual, quizzes, and training
Training bundle$1,797
Course length50 hours advertised
Training CPE40 earned CPE credits
Course modules25 advertised
Course accessLifetime access to the course
Exam licenceOne year (separate from course access)
Credential renewalEvery two years
Keep These Clocks Separate: Three different time concepts get confused constantly. Lifetime course access, the one-year exam licence, and the two-year credential renewal cycle are distinct. The licence term does not tell you the recertification policy, and the 50-hour course length is not an exam timer. The numeric renewal CPE requirement and renewal fee were not recovered from current issuer policy, so confirm them before planning long-term. Full pricing logic is in the CCIP certification cost breakdown.

Note that the exam-only product text excludes the manual, quizzes, and training, even though a generic banner on the issuer's site may suggest otherwise. If you buy exam-only, plan to source your own preparation. Scheduling mechanics are covered in CCIP exam dates and scheduling.

What Is Not Publicly Confirmed

A trustworthy cheat sheet states its blind spots. As of the issuer pages reviewed, the following are not publicly verified:

  • The exact number of questions and the scored/unscored split
  • Specific item formats and whether the test is adaptive
  • The external online-proctoring vendor
  • An official domain count, names, or weights for the exam itself
  • Whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are allowed, and detailed retake rules
  • A dated public exam version
  • A published pass rate

The public training metadata mentions a legal/technical hours split. Do not convert those hours into exam percentages. They describe training time, not how the final exam is scored. If a third-party site quotes precise question counts or domain percentages for this credential, treat the claim skeptically unless it traces back to the issuer.

Sequencing Your Review Around CCIP Content

Since weights are unknown, sequence by dependency: foundations and legal grounding first, hands-on collection next, then evidence and reporting. A sensible pattern ties each stretch to specific subjects:

Week 1

Foundations, Privacy, and Safe Setup

  • Cyber-intelligence foundations and methodology vocabulary
  • Privacy and legal considerations that frame everything else
  • Secure research environments before any collection work
Week 2

Collection Techniques

  • OSINT, advanced searching, and deep-web research
  • Social-media investigations and auction fraud scenarios
Week 3

Analysis and Deception

  • Deception analysis, source reliability, and corroboration
  • Practice stating assumptions, gaps, and supported judgments
Week 4

Evidence, Reporting, and Program Context

  • Digital evidence, documentation, and case management
  • Law-enforcement partnerships and program development
  • Full timed run-throughs against the three-hour limit

This ordering is an editorial suggestion, not an issuer syllabus. Adjust it to your background: someone from a law-enforcement role may move faster through partnerships and documentation but slower through secure environments, while a technical analyst may be the reverse. For a fuller plan, see the CCIP study guide and practice with timed questions on the CCIP Exam Prep practice tests.

Why Candidates Pursue It

Typical audiences include investigators, analysts, fraud examiners, and security professionals who want a credential centered on open-source and cyber investigative tradecraft. The curriculum's focus on law-enforcement partnerships and reporting suggests relevance to public-sector and corporate investigative roles. For role listings see CCIP jobs, for earnings context read the salary guide, and to weigh the investment, review whether the certification is worth it. No specific salary or hiring statistics are asserted here.

Quick Answers (FAQ)

How long is the CCIP exam?

The issuer publishes a three-hour examination time limit, delivered online with a proctor. The number of questions is not publicly confirmed.

What score do I need to pass?

The published final-examination passing criterion is at least 70%. This is a threshold, not a pass rate; the actual pass rate is not publicly disclosed.

How much does the exam cost?

The standalone exam is $450 and includes one attempt and a one-year exam licence. The training bundle is $1,797. Exam-only excludes the manual, quizzes, and training.

Are the 13 areas official weighted domains?

No. They are thirteen subjects drawn from the issuer's published curriculum narrative and organized editorially. Official weights and an exhaustive blueprint are not publicly verified.

How often does the credential renew?

Renewal is every two years. The numeric CPE requirement and renewal fee were not recovered from current issuer policy, so confirm them with the McAfee Institute before relying on any figure.

For a plain-language primer if you are brand new, start with what CCIP is, and keep this page handy as a quick-reference companion as your preparation progresses.

Ready to pass your CCIP exam?

Put this into practice with free CCIP questions across every exam domain.