CCIP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCIP Certification

TL;DR
  • CCIP here means McAfee Institute's Certified Cyber Intelligence Professional, an online-proctored, three-hour final certification assessment.
  • The standalone exam costs USD 450 and includes one attempt plus a one-year exam license.
  • The published final-examination passing threshold is at least 70%; the actual pass rate is not publicly disclosed.
  • Thirteen published curriculum subjects, from OSINT to program development, are not official weighted exam domains.

What the CCIP Credential Actually Is

The acronym CCIP is shared by several unrelated credentials in the technology world, so precision matters from the first sentence. On this site, CCIP means Certified Cyber Intelligence Professional, a certification issued by the McAfee Institute. It is a practitioner-oriented credential built around the collection, analysis, and reporting of intelligence in digital environments. It is not a networking vendor exam, not a product certification, and not an associate-level credential from another body. If you are still sorting out terminology, our explainers on what CCIP certification is and what CCIP stands for cover the naming question in more depth.

The credential is positioned as a measure of applied competence. The program's published performance objectives describe a candidate who can explain advanced cyber intelligence methodologies and investigative frameworks, perform complex analysis that integrates multiple data sources, and deliver assessments suitable for strategic or operational decision-making. That framing tells you what the assessment is trying to reward: not memorized definitions, but the ability to reason through an investigation and communicate defensible conclusions.

Who Issues It and How the Exam Is Delivered

The final certification assessment is online proctored, with a proctor license included in the exam product. The issuer's public pages do not name the external proctoring provider, so confirm the technical requirements (webcam, room rules, identification, system checks) directly in your candidate instructions before exam day rather than assuming a particular platform's rules.

Exam AttributeWhat the Issuer PublishesStatus
DeliveryOnline proctoredPublished
Time limit3 hoursPublished
Passing thresholdAt least 70% on the final examinationPublished
Attempts includedOne attempt with the standalone examPublished
Exam license termOne yearPublished
Question countNot stated in sources reviewedUnverified
Scored vs. unscored itemsNot statedUnverified
Item formats / adaptive testingNot statedUnverified
Official weighted blueprintNot publicly availableUnverified
Read the table honestly: several details candidates ask about most, such as question count and item mix, are simply not published in the public issuer material. Any site claiming an exact number of questions or a precise domain breakdown for this exam is going beyond what the issuer discloses. For a closer look at the scoring side, see our page on the CCIP passing score.

Eligibility Routes

The McAfee Institute ties the credential to professional background as well as exam performance. The current alternatives are:

  • Bachelor's degree plus three relevant years of experience
  • Associate degree plus four relevant years
  • High school diploma or equivalent plus five relevant years

Qualifying experience is described in terms of paid professional duties, and the process involves documentation, conduct and background review, and possibly additional review for international applicants. The specific reference requirements and any mandatory training hours for exam-only candidates are not confirmed in the public pages, so treat those as questions to put to the issuer before you pay. Our CCIP requirements guide walks through how to document your experience and what to prepare in advance.

Cost, License, and Training Options

There are two public purchase paths, and they are easy to confuse:

OptionPriceWhat It Includes
Exam onlyUSD 450One attempt and a one-year exam license; product text excludes the manual, quizzes, and training
Training bundleUSD 1,797Course package advertised at 50 hours, 40 earned CPE credits, and lifetime course access

Three distinctions are worth internalizing. First, the one-year exam license governs how long you have to sit the exam; it is not the same thing as the credential's renewal cycle. Second, lifetime course access applies to the training materials, not to the exam license. Third, the credential itself renews every two years, but the numeric renewal CPE requirement and fee could not be confirmed from current issuer policy, so check the issuer's renewal page rather than relying on third-party summaries. The 50 course hours and 40 CPE credits are training metadata, not exam timers or question counts. A full pricing breakdown lives in our CCIP certification cost guide.

Key Takeaway

If you already work in investigations or intelligence and want only the credential, the exam-only route is the lean option. If your background has gaps in areas like deep-web research or digital evidence handling, the training bundle's structure may be worth the difference. Decide based on your honest self-assessment, then consult our ROI analysis.

The Thirteen Preparation Subjects

The issuer's public curriculum narrative touches thirteen subject areas. We have organized them for study purposes, but be clear about what they are: preparation categories drawn from the course narrative, not an official examination blueprint, and not weighted. The publisher presents them in prose, and the advertised 25 course modules have no publicly listed titles. Our companion piece on all 13 CCIP content areas goes deeper on each; here is how they cluster.

Foundations and Collection

Domain 1: Cyber-Intelligence Foundations

The conceptual base: what cyber intelligence is, how collection feeds analysis, and how investigative frameworks structure the work.

  • Collection versus analysis versus dissemination
  • Methodologies and investigative frameworks
  • Legal considerations that bound collection activity

Domain 2: OSINT

Open-source intelligence is the working core of the program: gathering publicly available information and judging what it is worth.

  • Identifying and prioritizing public sources
  • Assessing source reliability and corroborating across independent sources
  • Recognizing conflicting information rather than smoothing it over

Domain 8: Advanced Searching

Moving beyond casual queries to structured, repeatable search technique.

  • Building precise queries and refining them iteratively
  • Documenting search paths so results are reproducible
  • Knowing the limits of what any search method can surface

Operating Safely and Securely

Domain 3: Privacy

Both the analyst's own exposure and the privacy interests of the people being researched.

  • Minimizing your own digital footprint during research
  • Understanding where privacy expectations and legal limits intersect with collection

Domain 4: Secure Research Environments

How to structure the technical setting in which investigative work happens so that the work, the analyst, and the evidence are protected.

  • Separating investigative activity from personal and organizational identity
  • Preventing contamination between cases

Investigative Domains

Domain 5: Social-Media Investigations

Platform-based research is one of the program's explicit learning outcomes.

  • Profile, connection, and content analysis
  • Preserving what you find before it changes or disappears

Domain 6: Auction Fraud

A distinctive, practical subject: how marketplace and auction schemes operate and how investigators trace them.

  • Recognizing typical fraud patterns and indicators
  • Linking seller, listing, and payment artifacts

Domain 7: Deep-Web Research

Exploring content that standard search engines do not index, another explicit program outcome.

  • Understanding what makes content hard to reach
  • Applying safe-handling discipline when researching it

Domain 9: Deception Analysis

Assessing whether information, personas, and narratives can be trusted.

  • Detecting manipulation, fabricated identities, and misleading content
  • Separating what is known from what is merely asserted

Evidence, Reporting, and Partnerships

Domain 10: Digital Evidence

Handling digital material so that it remains useful and defensible.

  • Identification, preservation, and integrity of digital artifacts
  • Maintaining a clear chain of handling

Domain 11: Documentation

Case management and professional intelligence reporting depend on disciplined records.

  • Recording methods, sources, and decisions as you work
  • Producing reports a decision-maker can act on

Domain 12: Law-Enforcement Partnerships

How private-sector and agency investigators coordinate, share information appropriately, and hand off findings.

  • Understanding what law enforcement needs from a referral
  • Staying within legal and procedural boundaries when collaborating

Domain 13: Program Development

Building and managing an intelligence capability, not just performing individual investigations.

  • Structuring workflows, standards, and team practices
  • Aligning intelligence output with organizational decisions

Learning Outcomes and Performance Objectives

Beyond the thirteen subjects, the issuer publishes six learning outcomes. These are program outcomes, not weighted exam sections, but they are an excellent lens for self-testing:

  1. Develop comprehensive cyber intelligence techniques
  2. Practice social media investigation skills
  3. Explore the deep web and advanced search techniques
  4. Manage cyber investigations and case management
  5. Analyze digital evidence effectively
  6. Document findings for intelligence reporting

The three performance objectives sit above them: explain advanced methodologies and frameworks, perform complex analysis integrating multiple data sources, and deliver assessments suitable for strategic or operational decisions. The program describes a foundation, applied, and exit progression, which is a learning arc and carries no scoring weight. Treat it as a way to pace yourself: understand the concepts, then practice integrating sources, then practice writing the assessment.

A caution on the "15 legal / 35 technical" figure: public course metadata splits the 50 training hours into legal and technical hours. That is a description of course content, not an exam weighting. Do not convert it into percentages and allocate your study time accordingly.

Reporting, Source Reliability, and Supported Judgments

The thirteen subjects tell you what to study; the surrounding preparation context tells you how deeply. The issuer's narrative emphasizes habits of mind that run through every subject, and candidates who reduce preparation to vocabulary will be underprepared. Build fluency in these cross-cutting skills:

  • Source reliability: rating how trustworthy a source is separately from how credible a specific piece of information seems.
  • Corroboration: seeking independent confirmation rather than counting repeated copies of the same claim.
  • Uncertainty and assumptions: stating what you do not know and what you are taking for granted.
  • Information gaps and conflicting information: naming them explicitly instead of papering over them.
  • Supported judgments: concluding only what the evidence actually carries, with confidence expressed appropriately.
  • Case management and professional reporting: tracking an investigation from intake to deliverable.

A useful drill: take any public news story about a fraud or online scheme and write a half-page assessment that separates facts, assumptions, and gaps, and ends with a judgment you could defend. If you can do that cleanly and quickly, you are practicing the exact skill the performance objectives describe. For a quick-reference companion to these concepts, see the CCIP cheat sheet.

What Is Not Publicly Verified

Credibility means saying what we cannot confirm. As of the issuer pages reviewed, the following remain unverified:

  • The exact number of exam questions and the split between scored and unscored items
  • The live item formats and whether the exam is adaptive
  • Whether the exam is open-book and any calculator policy
  • Detailed retake rules and fees
  • The name of the external proctoring vendor
  • A dated exam version and any official domain count, names, or weights
  • The publicly disclosed pass rate
  • Numeric renewal CPE requirements and renewal fees

Because of this, be skeptical of any source asserting a specific "most heavily weighted domain." No such claim can be supported from public issuer material. This is also why a published figure for how many candidates pass is not available; our pass-rate analysis explains what can and cannot be said, and our difficulty guide frames difficulty in terms of the skills tested rather than invented statistics.

Sequencing Your Preparation

Because the subjects are unweighted, the best approach is to sequence by dependency rather than by guessed importance: foundations and sourcing first, secure operating practices before investigative technique, and reporting last because it consumes everything before it. One possible arrangement:

Week 1

Foundations, OSINT, and Searching

  • Cyber-intelligence foundations and legal boundaries
  • OSINT sourcing, reliability, and corroboration
  • Advanced searching with documented query trails
Week 2

Safe Operation

  • Privacy and secure research environments
  • Practice setting up and describing a separated investigative workspace
Week 3

Investigative Subjects

  • Social-media investigations, auction fraud, deep-web research
  • Deception analysis applied to each
Week 4

Evidence, Reporting, and Programs

  • Digital evidence, documentation, and case management
  • Law-enforcement partnerships and program development
  • Write two full assessments with stated assumptions and gaps

Adjust the pacing to your background. A working fraud investigator may compress the investigative weeks and spend longer on program development; an analyst from a non-investigative field may do the reverse. For a fuller plan, see our CCIP study guide, and for course-based preparation options see the overview of CCIP training. When you want to test recall under time pressure, our CCIP practice tests let you rehearse the scenario reasoning this credential favors, and the main practice site is the place to find fresh question sets as you work through each subject.

Where the Credential Fits Professionally

The curriculum's emphasis on OSINT, fraud, digital evidence, and law-enforcement coordination points toward roles in investigations, corporate security, fraud and loss prevention, threat and risk analysis, and intelligence functions within or alongside public-sector agencies. The inclusion of program development suggests the credential also speaks to people who build or lead intelligence teams rather than only perform individual casework. We do not cite salary figures here because none are supported by issuer sources; our salary guide and CCIP jobs overview discuss how to evaluate pay and roles qualitatively. As with any credential, value depends on your existing experience, your sector, and how well you can show applied results.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who issues the CCIP certification?

The McAfee Institute issues the Certified Cyber Intelligence Professional credential. It is distinct from other certifications that happen to share the CCIP acronym, so confirm you are reading material about this specific program.

How long is the exam and what score do I need?

The online-proctored final examination has a three-hour time limit, and the issuer's published passing threshold is at least 70%. The number of questions is not publicly stated in the sources reviewed.

How much does the exam cost?

The standalone exam is USD 450 and includes one attempt and a one-year exam license. A training bundle is listed at USD 1,797 and adds the 50-hour course with 40 CPE credits and lifetime course access.

Are the 13 domains officially weighted?

No. The thirteen subjects are preparation categories drawn from the issuer's curriculum narrative. No official domain count, names, or weights are publicly verified, so study all of them rather than guessing at emphasis.

What experience do I need to qualify?

Options include a bachelor's degree plus three relevant years, an associate degree plus four, or a high school diploma or equivalent plus five. Documentation, conduct and background review, and possible international review also apply.

In short, the CCIP rewards candidates who can think and write like working intelligence professionals: sourcing carefully, documenting rigorously, and stating conclusions no more strongly than the evidence allows. Verify the unconfirmed details with the issuer, prepare across all thirteen subjects, and practice producing defensible assessments rather than memorizing lists.

Ready to pass your CCIP exam?

Put this into practice with free CCIP questions across every exam domain.